Last night, we lost power. My guess is that “the grid” was just overloaded.. it’s HOT and HUMID here this week. Shiela, Ben and I were in the living room when the AC/fan/TV/lights/etc. all shut off. Scared the pants off of Benjamin. His “fight or flight” reflex is strong.. he was going to get the heck out of dodge. He didn’t come running to either of us.. and didn’t cry.. but he was going to get out of the room if he had to go through the wall!

We finally convinced him that it was ok and that nothing was “boken” (broken) and that no, we couldn’t watch Buddy (Toy Story.. combo of Buzz and Woody). We lit some candles and grabbed some flashlights.

Ben said “yaaayyyy!!! Birthday Cake!”

I’m not sure where he learned that.

I explained that no.. it wasn’t a birthday cake.. it was just candles.. but that it looked just like the candles on a birthday cake and he was brilliant. He heard “candles” and immediately signed “candy” and started walking around jabbering about candy-candy-candy…

We grabbed our flashlights and some books and piled into our bedroom, which was the coolest in the house given that I had run the AC on high all day in there. The chill didn’t last for long though, and by about 9:30.. Ben was still up and flailing around. FINALLY.. the power came back on!

In other news.. I had my effing colonoscopy yesterday. It went fine.. no complications or anything.. but now there is this huge mystery. My colitis IS NOT flaring up.. no inflamation in my colon at all, it seems. So where the heck is the blood coming from? They took biopsies, but no comments about finding anything like polyps or other gross growths. I’m supposed to call my doc back in a week, once the biopsy results are in.

i.e. I called this morning. Actually.. I’ve called three times today. She’s with patients. I just want her to call back to tell me that everything looked normal and that she has no idea what caused the bleeding/anemia but that we’ll figure it out. What I’m afraid of is that she’ll call and say that there was something wrong and she did biopsies to confirm what she already assumes.. that i’m a goner.. ok.. so maybe I’m a bit paranoid.. but my gosh.. can’t anything be simple?