You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 7, 2009.

There are a few subjects that I try not to blog about. Religion is one of them. I don’t throw around words like “prayer” lightly. It’s not that I don’t believe in.. something.. I’m just not sure I can put words to what I believe and I have yet to find someone who can help me fill in the blanks with ideas that don’t irritate me.

That said. I’ve found myself saying real prayers for the past few days.

A good friend of mine from college, Zach, was recently diagnosed with bile duct cancer. He has a wife who he adores and brags about constantly, and two beautiful daughters under the age of 5. Yesterday, he was supposed to go in for surgery to resect his liver and to remove some lymph nodes. The prognosis wasn’t great going into that surgery.. but the doctor’s were optimistic. They weren’t able to perform the surgery. The cancer has spread and is more catastrophic that the pre-surgical tests had indicated. He will start a targeted chemo treatment and they will attempt surgery in a few months if they are able to slow the progress of the disease.

Fight this, Zach. This world needs to keep all of the real drummers that we can! *hug*

Benjamin Deacon

2990748042_3a8a9a655d_o
Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31